Sumidero Canyon Tour From San Cristobal De Las Casas: Time, Price And Pickup
Fifteen bookable day trips leave San Cristobal de las Casas for the canyon, ranging from $40 to $155 per person and from 6 to 9 hours door to door. Here is how they differ, and how a guided day stacks up against the colectivo route.
Short answer
A Sumidero Canyon day trip from San Cristobal runs 6 to 9 hours and costs from $40 to $155 per person across the 15 departures on this site. Most meet at Portal 9 or Portal Oriente by the central plaza around 8:45, include the boat ride and park fee, and finish with free time in Chiapa de Corzo before the drive back.
San Cristobal de las Casas sits about an hour by road from the embarcaderos at Chiapa de Corzo, and that single fact shapes the whole market: every canyon day trip from the city is built around a van ride down the mountain, two hours on the water inside the national park, and a stop in the colonial town where the boats dock. The 15 tours on this site run from $40 per person on the budget shared boat days to $155 per person on the premium hotel-pickup departure, and from 6 hours to 9 hours door to door.
That spread is real, not padding. The cheapest fare is Selva Azul's shared day at from $40 per person, with the OTISA VIAJES 9-hour trip close behind at from $46. The most expensive, Selva Azul Chiapas' premium boat tour at from $155 per person, lists hotel pickup and drop-off, a 90-minute canyon cruise and the park entrance fee. Between them sit thirteen other listings with different combinations of viewpoints, languages and group sizes. This guide compares them line by line, and weighs the whole idea of a booked day against going alone by colectivo. Whatever the price, part of the appeal is the canyon's sheer scale, and our guide to whether Sumidero Canyon is bigger than the Grand Canyon settles that question before you book anything.

How Long Is A Sumidero Canyon Day Trip From San Cristobal?
Every San Cristobal departure on this site takes between 6 and 9 hours total, and most of that is deliberate: roughly 70 minutes of driving each way to the docks, about two hours on the boat inside Sumidero Canyon, and one to two hours of free time in Chiapa de Corzo, plus viewpoint stops on the fuller itineraries. The EcoExperiencias day is the shortest at 6 hours; the OTISA and Apasionado trips run 9. If you're weighing how this boat day stacks up against other outings from the city, our ranked guide to the best day trips from San Cristobal de las Casas compares durations, prices and booking advice.
The featured listing on this site, the Jalapeño full day, shows its full timeline: a 70-minute van drive, a 45-minute scenic viewpoint drive, another hour in the van, a 110-minute canyon walk segment, then 75 minutes in Chiapa de Corzo before returning to the Al Grano Cafe beside the central plaza. That adds up to the stated 8 to 9 hours. The OTISA 9-hour tour splits its day differently, with a 100-minute long-tail boat ride and 100 minutes of free time in Chiapa de Corzo, and its listing states a maximum of 30 travelers on the vehicle.
One San Cristobal listing, the Agencia Chiapas Viajes miradores trip, states no total duration, while its budget fare states 8 hours. That is worth knowing before you book, so check each listing for the day's length.
| Listing | Operator | Stated duration |
|---|---|---|
| EcoExperiencias bilingual eco tour | EcoExperiencias México | 6 hours |
| Premium boat tour, hotel pickup | Selva Azul Chiapas | 8 hours |
| Jalapeño full day (lists Spanish and English) | Jalapeño | 8 to 9 hours |
| Budget fare, 9-hour day trip | OTISA VIAJES | 9 hours |
| OTISA tour with viewpoints | OTISA VIAJES | 9 hours |
| Apasionado day trip | Apasionado x Chiapas Travel | 9 hours |
Time of day matters as much as total hours. Boats at the embarcadero generally depart when full between 8:00 and 16:00, and the last full-trip departure is around 14:00, so a tour that leaves San Cristobal late morning still catches the full route. Early departures are the ones that reach the canyon with morning light on the walls and fewer boats on the water, a point this site covers in detail in its guide to the best time of day for the canyon boat ride.
What Does A Canyon Tour From San Cristobal Cost?
Prices across the 15 San Cristobal departures run from $40 per person on the Selva Azul budget boat day to $155 per person on the premium hotel-pickup listing, and most cluster between $45 and $90. Every price below is the listing's own figure, printed exactly as stated, with no rounding or conversion. What the price buys varies more than the price itself: fee coverage, language and pickup all move between listings.
The budget end is crowded. The unbranded 8-hour fare lists from $46 per person, the Explorando Chiapas combo from $46, the Apasionado day from $52, the Jalapeno Tours miradores trip from $56, and the guided adventure from $49. Of these, the Apasionado day, the Jalapeno Tours miradores trip and the guided adventure state that park and entrance fees are included, while the unbranded fare and the Explorando Chiapas combo do not state it, which matters: the official CONANP entry fee is 125 MXN per person per day, charged separately from the boat fare when you arrive independently, and many independent travelers only discover it at the dock. The official CONANP page for the park sets out the fee, the exemptions for children under 12 and credentialed older adults, and the discounts for students and Mexican nationals.
At the top end, the Selva Azul Chiapas premium tour lists from $155 per person with a 4.6 rating from 136 reviews, hotel pickup and drop-off, a 90-minute boat tour, the park entrance fee, travel insurance and an English-speaking guide on the private option. The EcoExperiencias bilingual eco tour, from $135 per person with a 3.4 rating from 20 reviews, is the other listing above $100. For most readers the value zone is the $50 to $90 band, where the Jalapeño full day (from $85, 4.6 from 268 reviews, the most reviewed tour on this site) and the OTISA fares (from $86 and $46) sit.

| Listing | Price per person | Rating and reviews | Park fee stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Budget boat tour, viewpoints (Selva Azul) | from $40 | 4.0 from 80 reviews | Included |
| Budget fare, 9-hour (OTISA) | from $46 | 4.6 from 104 reviews | Included |
| Jalapeño full day | from $85 | 4.6 from 268 reviews | Included |
| National park full day (EcoExperiencias) | from $89 | 4.4 from 66 reviews | Included |
| Eco tour, bilingual, 6 hours | from $135 | 3.4 from 20 reviews | Included |
| Premium boat tour (Selva Azul Chiapas) | from $155 | 4.6 from 136 reviews | Included |
Four listings do not state the fee either way: the OTISA viewpoints tour, the Agencia Chiapas Viajes miradores trip, the unbranded 8-hour fare, and the Explorando Chiapas combo. For those, budget the 125 MXN on top and confirm with the operator before departure. This site's cost and tickets guide breaks the full fee picture down, including the cooperative boat fares of 460 MXN for foreign visitors if you buy at the dock instead.
Where Do Day Trips Pick Up In San Cristobal De Las Casas?
Most San Cristobal listings meet at Portal 9 or Portal Oriente, the arcade facing the central plaza, with several naming the Al Grano Cafe as the exact marker, and the two Agencia Chiapas Viajes listings stating an 8:45 start. Four of the fifteen list hotel pickup: the EcoExperiencias national park full day, the Selva Azul Chiapas premium tour, the Ecoexperiencias boat ride and viewpoints trip, and the Explorando Chiapas combo.
The meeting-point pattern is the single biggest practical difference between the cheap and expensive listings. The Jalapeño full day, both OTISA fares and the Jalapeno Tours miradores trip all name Portal 9 or Portal Oriente, and the two unbranded fares state plainly that the start is in front of the Cafeteria Al Grano Cafe at 8:45. If your hotel is outside the centro histórico, that means a short walk or taxi to the plaza first. The Selva Azul budget boat day describes receiving travelers at hotels in the downtown area, though its listing flags transport as included without stating hotel pickup outright.

Hotel pickup, where listed, is a genuine convenience rather than a marketing flourish. The EcoExperiencias full-day trip lists hotel pickup and a maximum of 14 travelers, from $89 per person. The premium Selva Azul Chiapas listing picks up in Zona Centro. The Ecoexperiencias boat ride and viewpoints listing, from $79 per person with hotel pickup and drop-off and a professional guide included, is the mid-price way to skip the plaza walk, though its listing does not state free cancellation, unlike most of these tours.
Should You Book The Pickup Or Meet At The Plaza?
Meet at the plaza if the price matters more than the walk; book a pickup listing if you are traveling with children, staying outside the center, or catching an early departure in the cold. The pickup listings cost more, from $79 to $155, but they remove the single most common failure point of a canyon day, which is the meeting time.
San Cristobal mornings between November and February are genuinely cold, and the plaza meetings cluster around 8:45, so a hotel pickup buys an extra half hour indoors. Against that, the plaza is five minutes' walk from most centro hotels, and the budget fares save $30 to $100 per person. There is no wrong answer, only a trade.
What Does The Boat Ride In Sumidero Canyon Actually Include?
The standard ride is a shared lancha from the Chiapa de Corzo embarcadero up the Grijalva River to the Chicoasén dam wall and back, about two hours round trip, with a mandatory life jacket and a conservation wristband. Guided listings bundle that ride with the van transfer and the park fee; a few add viewpoint stops on the miradores road above the canyon.
The route passes named sights: the Belisario Domínguez bridge, Cueva de Colores with its shrine, the Velo de Novia and Árbol de Navidad waterfalls, and the river bend said to mirror the Chiapas coat of arms. What lives along the walls is variable and no listing can promise it: American crocodiles, spider monkeys, herons, cormorants, pelicans and vultures are all reported on the ride, and in October 2026 Profepa released 13 rescued river crocodiles into the park, but sightings depend on the day, the hour and the season. The wildlife guide covers what you can actually expect to see.
The listing differences are in the boat segment's length and framing. The OTISA tours describe a 100-minute long-tail boat ride with life jacket. The premium Selva Azul Chiapas day states a 90-minute boat tour through the canyon. The EcoExperiencias 6-hour eco tour gives two hours to the guided canyon segment. All are the same river; the variance is how much of the day the operator builds around it.
Rules on the water are set by the park and the cooperatives, not by the tour operators: life jacket mandatory, hands out of the water, no glass containers, no alcohol brought in, no smoking, no pets, no drones, and nobody leaves the boats. CONANP's official visitor information is the source for hours and the regulation, and the site's photography and drone rules guide explains the drone ban in practice.
Should You Take A Guided Tour Or Go To Chiapa De Corzo Alone?
Going alone costs less in cash, roughly a colectivo to Tuxtla then a Chiapa de Corzo connection plus the 460 MXN foreign-visitor boat fare and the 125 MXN park fee, but it costs you the morning: you manage two connections, the dock queue and the Spanish-only ticket desk yourself. A guided day from $40 to $155 bundles the van, the boat seat and usually the fee into one departure.
The independent route is well trodden. A colectivo from Tuxtla Gutiérrez to Chiapa de Corzo runs about 20 MXN and 20 to 30 minutes, and the embarcadero sits one to two blocks from the central park. Boats leave when full between 8:00 and roughly 14:00 for the full trip. What independence does not buy is the miradores: the viewpoints road is a separate drive from Tuxtla, closed Tuesdays, and hard to reach without a vehicle, which is exactly why the viewpoint-inclusive tours exist.
| Factor | Guided day trip | Independent trip |
|---|---|---|
| Cash cost | from $40 to $155 per person | colectivo fares plus 460 MXN boat and 125 MXN fee |
| Time cost | one booking, fixed departure | two transit legs plus dock wait |
| Language | several bilingual listings | Spanish at the dock |
| Viewpoints | included on most full days | separate trip, closed Tuesdays |
| Park fee | stated included on eleven of fifteen listings | paid at entry |
| Flexibility | fixed itinerary | leave when you choose |
The budget guided fares undercut independence once you value your morning. The OTISA 9-hour trip at from $46 includes transport, entrance fees, the shared boat tour and the Chiapa de Corzo visit; its exclusions are the guide, food and extra activities. Against two colectivos, a 460 MXN fare and a 125 MXN fee, plus the viewpoints you would otherwise miss, the $46 is close to a wash, and the 4.6 rating from 104 reviews suggests the operation runs reliably.
For travelers who want the guide with the low price, the Apasionado x Chiapas day at from $52 includes a Spanish tour operator, basic travel insurance and the Sumidero National Park entrance fee, with viewpoints built into its itinerary, and it carries a 4.4 rating from 124 reviews.
Which Departure Fits Your Travel Style?
Fifteen listings sort cleanly into four styles: the budget shared days from $40 to $56 for price-first travelers, the full viewpoint days from $79 to $89 for first-time visitors who want the miradores, the bilingual and premium listings from $85 to $155 for English-language service and hotel pickup, and the private or small-group options for families. Language, group size and cancellation terms are the tiebreakers.

Language first, because it eliminates options fast. Only a handful of listings state English: the Jalapeño full day (Spanish and English, 4.6 from 268 reviews), the EcoExperiencias eco tour (English and Spanish), the OTISA viewpoints and English-guide listings (both Spanish and English), and the premium Selva Azul Chiapas day. Several budget fares state no language at all, which in practice usually means Spanish-only service; the guided adventure listing says outright that services are operated in Spanish only.
| Traveler | Best-fit listing | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Price first | OTISA budget fare, from $46 | entrance fees and boat included, no guide |
| English service | OTISA English-guide day, from $86 | bilingual Spanish/English driver-guide included, 4.5 from 15 reviews |
| Hotel pickup | Selva Azul Chiapas premium, from $155 | pickup, insurance, 90-minute boat |
| Small group | EcoExperiencias full day, from $89 | listed maximum of 14 travelers |
| Shortest day | EcoExperiencias eco tour, from $135 | 6 hours, bilingual |
| Viewpoints plus boat | OTISA viewpoints tour, from $86 | boat plus miradores, max 30 travelers |
Group size is stated on only three San Cristobal listings: the EcoExperiencias full day caps at 14 travelers, the OTISA viewpoints tour at 30, and no other listing gives a number. Free cancellation is listed on fourteen of the fifteen; the Ecoexperiencias boat ride and viewpoints listing is the one that does not state it. If refundability matters, that single omission is worth checking before booking rather than after.
Cancellation is also where the premium listings earn part of their price: the Selva Azul Chiapas day lists free cancellation, hotel pickup, travel insurance and an English-speaking guide on the private option, from $155 per person with a 4.6 rating from 136 reviews. For a family or a tight connection, that bundle removes most of the ways a canyon day can go sideways.
What Should You Know Before Booking From San Cristobal?
Three things shape any San Cristobal canyon day: the viewpoints road closes Tuesdays, so a miradores itinerary that day compresses to boat plus town; the dry season from November to April brings the stable weather and clearer water most listings photograph best in; and the Tuxtla to San Cristobal highway has seen repeated blockade reports in October 2026, so build slack into any onward travel the same evening.
The Tuesday closure is the quiet trap. Land access to the miradores runs Wednesday to Monday, 8:00 to 17:00, while boats run every day. If your only free day in San Cristobal is a Tuesday, pick a listing whose itinerary is boat-and-town rather than viewpoints, or go independent to the embarcadero. The site's guide to the miradores viewpoints lists the five lookouts and their access rules.
Season matters less than people fear, since boats run all year, but more than listings admit. The rainy season, May to mid-October with June and September peaks, raises the river, feeds the seasonal waterfalls and can bring navigation restrictions at the embarcaderos; the dry season lowers and clears the water. Tuxtla's climate normals put June rainfall at 211.1 mm against February's 1.8 mm, and the national weather service's station data is the source for those figures. The site's best time to visit guide works through the trade-offs month by month.

On safety, the US State Department carries Chiapas at Level 3, Reconsider Travel, with its restrictions aimed at municipalities away from the canyon corridor; no canyon-specific restrictions appear in the advisory, and no reports of crime targeting tourists at the canyon, Chiapa de Corzo, Tuxtla or San Cristobal surfaced in 2025 to 2026. The advisory itself is the document to read, not a summary of it. The October 2026 road blockade reports on the Tuxtla route are the live variable: they have closed or slowed the highway repeatedly, and operators reroute via the free road when they must. Confirm on arrival, and keep the evening loose.
For readers choosing between the docks themselves rather than between listings, the site's comparison of Cahuare or Chiapa de Corzo as an embarcadero covers the two access points most tours never mention. And for the wider question of whether the day justifies itself, Sumidero Canyon Tours maintains a homepage comparison and trip picker built around exactly these tours.
Common Questions About Canyon Day Trips From San Cristobal
How Long Is A Sumidero Canyon Tour From San Cristobal De Las Casas?
Between 6 and 9 hours door to door across the fifteen listings, with most around 8 to 9 hours. That includes roughly 70 minutes of driving each way, about two hours on the boat, and free time in Chiapa de Corzo, plus viewpoint stops on fuller itineraries.
What Is The Cheapest Sumidero Canyon Day Trip From San Cristobal?
The Selva Azul budget boat day lists from $40 per person, followed by the OTISA 9-hour fare at from $46 and the unbranded 8-hour fare at from $46. The OTISA fare includes entrance fees and the shared boat tour, with food and a guide excluded.
Do Canyon Tours From San Cristobal Include Hotel Pickup?
Most do not. The majority meet at Portal 9 or Portal Oriente by the central plaza, often at the Al Grano Cafe around 8:45. Only three listings state hotel pickup: the EcoExperiencias full day from $89, the Ecoexperiencias boat ride and viewpoints trip from $79, and the Selva Azul Chiapas premium tour from $155.
Is The Park Entrance Fee Included In A Booked Tour?
Eleven of the fifteen San Cristobal listings state that park and entrance fees are included. Four, including the OTISA viewpoints tour and the Explorando Chiapas combo, do not state the fee either way, so budget the official 125 MXN per person and confirm with the operator.
Are There English-Speaking Sumidero Canyon Tours From San Cristobal?
Yes. The Jalapeño full day lists Spanish and English service with a 4.6 rating from 268 reviews, and the EcoExperiencias eco tour, both OTISA viewpoint listings and the Selva Azul Chiapas premium day also list English. Several budget fares state no language, which usually means Spanish-only operation.
Is A Guided Tour Better Than Going To The Canyon Alone?
A guided day bundles the van, the boat seat, usually the park fee and often the viewpoints into one fixed departure. Going alone by colectivo via Tuxtla costs less cash but adds two transit legs, the dock queue and a separate trip if you want the miradores, which are closed on Tuesdays.